New Resident FAQ

Who do I call to have my underground utilities located?

Call J.U.L.I.E. 1-800-892-0123. If you want to do any digging you need to call 48 hours before digging.

Where is the nearest hospital?

The nearest hospital for most residents of Pike County is Illini Community Hospital in Pittsfield. There are hospitals in Louisana and Hannibal Missouri, Quincy and Jacksonville Illinois.
Contact: Kathy Hull
Phone: 217-285-2113

When do I need a building permit?

Anytime you plan to build a structure within the corporate limits of Pittsfield a permit is required. The permit alerts the Zoning Officer to review the location of the planned construction to make sure that it conforms to setbacks and that it is a permitted use in that zone.

What is the cost of a building permit?

If the cost of construction is less than $1,000 the fee is $50.  If construction has started prior to obtaining a permit the fine will be $150  If the cost of construction is more than $1,000 the permit is $100.  If construction has started prior to obtaining a permit the fine will be $200.
Contact: City Clerk
Phone: 217-285-4484
E-mail: cprentice@pittsfieldil.org
Web: www.pittsfieldil.org

Is a permit required for a fence?

A $7.50 fee is required for the permit to build a fence.
Contact: City Clerk
Phone: 217-285-4484
E-mail: cprentice@pittsfieldil.org
Web: www.pittsfieldil.org

What are the costs to obtain City utilities?

If you own or are buying a home there is no deposit. If you are renting a home the fees are $50 for water hookup and $100 for gas hookup.
Contact: City Clerk
Phone: 217-285-4484
E-mail: cprentice@pittsfieldil.org
Web: www.pittsfieldil.org

What are the camping and boat launch fees at the Pittsfield Lake?

For Pike County residents the annual fee to launch a boat at the City Lake is $10. If you are camping the daily fee is $2 to launch a boat. For non-residents of Pike County the annual boat launch fee is $40. If you are camping at the City Lake the annual boat launching fee is $20. The daily fee to launch a boat is $5 and if camping the daily boat launching fee is $2. The camping fees in the two RV Parks are $11 per day for both Pike County Residents and Non-residents. Tent camping is $5 per day unless the tent is set up in the RV Park then the fee is $11 per day.
Contact: City Clerk
Phone: 217-285-4484
E-mail: cprentice@pittsfieldil.org
Web: www.pittsfieldil.org

What are the burning hours and where can residents burn in Pittsfield?

The burning hours are between 8 am and 6 pm. Burning is not allowed on City property, which includes the ditches along the streets and the space between the street and sidewalks. Burning of garbage within the City limits is prohibited.
Contact: City Clerk
Phone: 217-285-4484
E-mail: cprentice@pittsfieldil.org
Web: www.pittsfieldil.org